OAA coaches select top players from solid season on the ice

By: Mike Moore | C&G Newspapers | Published March 20, 2014

From top to bottom, talk surrounding hockey in the Oakland Activities Association centered on how strong the league had become.

The Red Division was considered by some one of the stronger leagues in the state.

In the White Division, meanwhile, three teams finished the year with 17 wins or more.

The state playoffs saw a number of teams go on lengthy runs. In the Division 3 tournament, Farmington High put an exclamation point on things with a state championship after finishing sixth in the Red.

So, as the calender officially turns to spring, coaches from the league’s 14 teams have released All-Association honors.

Red Division
Rochester United took home the top spot in the Red with a 4-0-2 mark, one point ahead of Lake Orion High (4-1-1). Berkley Unified took third (3-2-1), followed by Clarkston High (3-2-1), Rochester Hills Stoney Creek (2-3-1), Farmington (2-4-0) and Farmington Hills Unified (0-6-0).

Max Harper of Rochester United was named the Player of the Year, while Farmington’s John Lethemon was named Goaltender of the Year.

All-Association accolades go to Harper, Marshall Bowery, Nick Marek, Kyler Patenaude and Grahan Day, Rochester; Ryan Szydlowski, Alex Gila, Jordan Stross and Logan Aldrich, Lake Orion; Chase Wiedemann, Garrett Polish, Eric Matynowski and Shawn Cotter, Clarkston; Ian Melrose, Stephen Wroe, Robby Flannery and Curtis Carne, Berkley; Cam Scharret, Hayden Richardson and Josh Niederhauser, Stoney Creek; Lethemon and Grant Newton, Farmington; and Kyle Witherspoon and Frank Zak, Farmington Unified.

White Division
Troy Athens won the White Division with an 8-1-3 mark and 19 points. Troy High was right behind at 8-3-1, followed by Royal Oak High (7-4-1), Auburn Hills Avondale (7-5-0), Birmingham Unified (5-6-1), Bloomfield Hills High (3-9-0) and West Bloomfield High (1-11-0).

Avondale’s Emmett Wagner took home Player of the Year, while Athens’ Jeff Merola was named Goaltender of the Year.

All-Association honors go to Merola, Brandon Goodes, Griffin Rocheleau, Jon Carandang and Brad Merola, Athens; Andrew Urban, John Hunter, Ramone Kammo and Jacob Smith, Troy; Evan Fall, Kevin Trumble, Mathieu Bashi and Danny Harlick, Royal Oak; Wagner, Nick Poplars and Max Spurlin, Avondale; Lewis Parris, Jason Bittker and Alex Voronovich, Birmingham; John Artemenko and Dominic Cappello, Bloomfield Hills; and Evan Root and Sean Wigler, West Bloomfield.