Follow C & G News on Facebook Follow C & G News on Twitter Google+ Pinterest feed Connect to the C & G RSS feed

Select a sport


Auburn Hills, Battle Creek, Berkley, Beverly Hills, Bingham Farms, Birmingham, Bloomfield, Bloomfield Hills, Bloomfield Township, Center Line, Chesterfield Township, Clarkston, Clawson, Clinton Township, Commerce Township, Dearborn, Detroit, Eastpointe, Farmington, Farmington Hills, Ferndale, Franklin, Fraser, Grosse Pointe City, Grosse Pointe Farms, Grosse Pointe Park, Grosse Pointe Shores, Grosse Pointe Woods, Grosse Pointes, Harper Woods, Harrison Township, Hazel Park, Huntington Woods, Keego Harbor, Lake Orion, Lansing, Lathrup Village, Livonia, Macomb County, Macomb Township, Madison Heights, Metro Detroit, Mount Clemens, New Baltimore, New Haven, Northeast Detroit, Novi, Oak Park, Oakland County, Oakland Township, Orchard Lake, Pleasant Ridge, Pontiac, Ray Township, Rochester, Rochester Hills, Romeo, Roseville, Royal Oak, Royal Oak Township, Shelby Township, Southfield, St. Clair Shores, Sterling Heights, Sylvan Lake, Troy, Utica, Walled Lake, Warren, Washington Township, Wayne County, West Bloomfield

MIHL honor team’s All-Star roster of talent represents one of the league’s best years ever

March 28, 2012

Andy Weidenbach cautioned against saying he expected the type of year the Michigan Interscholastic Hockey league enjoyed in 2011-12.

Still, the league president and Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook-Kingswood coach wasn’t surprise at how the postseason transpired, either.

“To see four teams from our league in the final four of the three divisions, that’s pretty special,” Weidenbach said last week. “You can’t expect something like that, because too many things can happen over the course of the playoffs. But the thing I will say is, every team in our league is capable of doing what they did.”

When the final horn sounded on the season, Grosse Pointe North, Birmingham Brother Rice, Orchard Lake St. Mary’s and Port Huron Northern all made the journey to Compuware, with Rice claiming the Division 2 title and North settling for a D-1 runner-up trophy.

Less than a week later, the MIHL officially closed out the year by releasing its list of All-Conference players, a star-studded roster.

“It’s an exceptional group of young men,” Weidenbach added. “This caliber of player is what makes our league as strong as it is.”

Brother Rice’s Mackenzie MacEachern and Trenton High’s Blake Wojtala shared the Most Valuable Player honors for the season.

First-team forwards are MacEachern and Thomas Ebbing, Rice; Charlie Green and Pete Halash, Novi Detroit Catholic Central; Christopher Brown, Cranbrook; Joe Aluia and J.P. Lucchese, Grosse Pointe North; Bobby King, Port Huron Northern; Shane Bednard, St. Mary’s; Cory Seychel, Trenton; Craig Pefley, University of Detroit Jesuit; and Tyler Groat, Wyandotte-Roosevelt.

First-team defensemen are Chris Wilberding, Rice; Nolan Gluchowski, Catholic Central; Cameron Heath, Cranbrook; Jack Stander, North; Tyler Hughes, Port Huron Northern; Stephan Beauvais, St. Mary’s; Cory Dunn, Trenton; and Kyle King, Wyandotte.

The first-team goalies are Wojtala, Trenton; Aaron Alkema, Cranbrook; and Chip Wujek, North.

For the complete roster of MIHL All-Conference players, including second team and honorable mention selections, visit the league’s website at


October 12, 2015

Birmingham Groves

In a showdown of unbeaten OAA Blue squads, Birmingham Groves dominated Berkley High 47-14 Oct. 9 at home to take sole possession of first place. The Falcons have locked up at least a share of the title, their first since 2011, and are 8-0 overall.

You May Be Interested In