Follow C & G News on Facebook Follow C & G News on Twitter Google+ Pinterest feed Connect to the C & G RSS feed


Macomb County

MAC recognizes best lacrosse players

June 30, 2014

» click to enlarge «
Utica goalie Tyler Warner looks to make a pass during a game earlier this season. Warner was named to the MAC White All-Conference team.

MACOMB COUNTY — It was a season of growth for Macomb Area Conference lacrosse. The MAC welcomed two new teams — Utica High and Utica Ford II — that joined the White Division.

Now that the season has concluded, it’s time to take a look back at the divisional races and honor the players that coaches felt deserved special recognition by being selected All-Conference.

Coach of the Year, divisional MVPs and Sportsmanship Awards were handed out as well.

MAC Red Division
For the second year in a row, Utica Eisenhower’s Shane Pettke was named league MVP. Eagles coach Paul Mikaila and Grosse Pointe South coach Don Wolford shared Coach of the Year honors. Romeo High received the Sportsmanship Award.

All-League honorees are Pettke, Logan Shambline, Charlie Hayes and Alex Schneider, Eisenhower; Robert Carrol, Caleb Cimmarusti, Andrew Wright and Jack Denison, Grosse Pointe South; Peter Lundy and Chene Fronteria, Grosse Pointe North; Brandon Lebodia and Brendan Salva, Romeo; Ian Moews and Trevor Green, Macomb L’Anse Creuse North; and Michael Jablonski, Harrison Township L’Anse Creuse.

Eisenhower and Grosse Pointe South finished 9-1 to share the title. The championship is the third straight for Eisenhower and third since 2011 for Grosse Pointe South. Grosse Pointe North (5-5) was next in the standings, followed by Romeo (3-7), L’Anse Creuse North (2-7) and L’Anse Creuse (1-8).

MAC White Division
Utica Ford II’s Dante D’Andrea earned MVP honors. Sterling-Mott Unified coach Steve Hunter was named Coach of the Year for the second straight year, and Warren Cousino earned the Sportsmanship Award.

All-League honorees are D’Andrea, John Medley and Zach Kowalski, Ford II; Dylan Neisler, Austin Ross, Ryan Sherada, Tyler Combs and Dominic Leone, Sterling-Mott; Will Kriewall, Tyler Maiers, Justice Packer, Jamie Howe, Port Huron High; Tyus Wiechman and Grant Zuccaro, Sterling Heights Stevenson; Brandon Oles and Cameron Blue, Cousino; and Tyler Warner, Utica.

Sterling-Mott finished league play 11-1 to win its second straight championship. Port Huron High placed second at 7-2, followed by Ford II at 7-3, Stevenson (7-4), Cousino (4-8), Utica (1-10) and Anchor Bay (0-9).


November 16, 2015

Beverly Hills Detroit Country Day

Thanks to two early scores, some lock-down defense, and a touchdown with just 5:25 remaining in regulation, the Beverly Hills Detroit Country Day football team picked up a 20-13 victory against Milan High in a Division 4 regional final on Nov. 14 and earned this week’s Team of the Week honor. Country Day, which had outscored its opponents 78-7 in the district round, advanced to the state semifinals for the second year in a row. The Yellowjackets (11-1) face Flint Powers Catholic (10-2) at 1 p.m. Nov. 21 at West Bloomfield High.

You May Be Interested In