MAC honors standout boys soccer players

By: Jason Carmel Davis | C&G Newspapers | Published December 4, 2013

With the 2013 Macomb Area Conference boys soccer season complete, the MAC has named its top players, honoring standouts with All-Conference recognition.

The honor teams have been released for each division, along with Most Valuable Player, Coach of the Year and sportsmanship awards.

Here’s a division-by-division breakdown of the honors teams.

Sterling Heights Stevenson senior Neil Martorana earned league MVP honors; Utica High’s Bob Mondoux was named Coach of the Year. Anchor Bay received the Sportsmanship Award.

Joining Martorana on the All-League team are seniors Maciej Laskowski, Kevin Ulch, Joe Ahern and Jason Licata, Stevenson; seniors Grant Harrison, Olaf Szemraj, Greg Ognjanovski and Tyler Lewalski, Utica Eisenhower; senior Noah Brenizer, senior Austin Perry and junior Matt Wilkie, Utica High; junior James Solomon, senior Chris Johnson and sophomore Dane Haggarty, Clinton Township Chippewa Valley; senior Brandon Troppens and sophomore Javier Steinwascher, Utica Ford II; and senior Devon Butler, Anchor Bay.

Stevenson went 8-0-2 in league play to capture a division title after Eisenhower had won the previous four MAC Red titles. Eisenhower finished second at 8-1-1, followed by Utica High (4-4-2), Chippewa Valley (3-5-2), Ford II (3-6-1) and Anchor Bay (0-10-0).

MAC White
Fraser High senior Matt Lang was named league MVP, with his coach, Thaier Mukhtar, taking Coach of the Year honors. Grosse Pointe North received the Sportsmanship Award.

All-League honorees are Lang, senior Nate East, junior Alec Sharpe, junior Justin Piccolo and junior Matt Lentine, Fraser; juniors Robert Durand and Cam Kotas, and seniors Murray Sales and Andrew Cornwall, Grosse Pointe South; senior Nathan Peters, sophomore Ryan Boehm and senior Jeremy Wynes, Macomb L’Anse Creuse North; seniors Eric Cass, Blake Talacko and Steven Gulino, St. Clair Shores Lakeview; juniors Chris Bahr and Nate Steinkampf, Grosse Pointe North; junior Christian Balmacedia and senior Bobby Weymouth, Romeo High; and senior Zack Nadolski, Warren Cousino.

Fraser went 11-0-1 in league play to earn its second straight MAC White title. Grosse Pointe South finished second at 7-2-3, followed by L’Anse Creuse North at 6-5-1, Lakeview (5-5-2), Grosse Pointe North (4-7-1), Romeo (2-7-3) and Cousino (1-10-1).

MAC Blue
Macomb Dakota senior Pasquale Madonna earned league MVP honors, while his coach, Stefano Moraccini, was named Coach of the Year. Harrison Township L’Anse Creuse earned the Sportsmanship Award.

All-League players are Madonna, seniors Alex Bozinovski and Sean Angelo Guevara, and juniors Marco DiStefano and Eddie Belker, Dakota; juniors Logan Ross, Sean Haddon and Luke Brady, and senior Devinn Rigley, Warren Mott; seniors Michael Swarthout, Matthew Swarthout and Joseph Podsiadly, St. Clair Shores Lake Shore; seniors Anh Ho, Chuck Grade and Jacob Archie, Sterling Heights High; junior Joey Verbeke and senior Armin Gradascevic, Harrison Township L’Anse Creuse; seniors JR Cuthbertson and Clark Ayotte, Port Huron Northern; and Kevin Trip, Madison Heights Lamphere.

Dakota went 10-0-2 in divisional play to claim its second straight league title. Warren Mott finished second at 8-3-1, followed by Lake Shore (6-4-2), Sterling Heights High (6-5-1), L’Anse Creuse (5-5-2), Port Huron Northern (1-8-3) and Lamphere (0-11-1).

MAC Gold
Marysville High senior Brandon Roeske took home league MVP honors, while Clawson’s Jared Kullman was named league Coach of the Year. St. Clair High received the Sportsmanship Award.

All-League honorees are Roeske and seniors Cory Gardner, Ethan McMahon and Pat Phillips, Marysville; seniors Andrew Halsey, David Harlukawicz and Jared Ocampo, and juniors Nathan Cote and Evan Deciantis, Clawson High; juniors Nick Ball and Scott Bradley, and seniors Brad Eisen and Brian Higgins, St. Clair; junior Devon Robinson and senior Jesse Vang, Center Line High; junior Eric Langolf and senior Amel Ljaljic, Port Huron High; seniors Jacob Berkley and Anthony Haskett, Warren Woods Tower; and senior Mark Koliba, Roseville High.

Clawson went 10-2-0 in divisional play to claim its third straight MAC Gold title. Marysville and St. Clair posted 7-1-4 records, followed by Port Huron (3-6-2), Warren Woods Tower (2-5-5), Center Line (1-6-4) and Roseville (0-9-1).

MAC Silver
Marine City senior Kyle Lemanski was named league MVP, while Warren Fitzgerald’s Jason Mackay earned Coach of the Year honors. St. Clair Shores South Lake received the Sportsmanship Award.

All-League honorees are Lemanski, seniors Gaven McPhearson, Yannik Terney and Alvero Lorenzo, and sophomore Jacob Rhein, Marine City; juniors Dolan Bonkowski, Marquis Perkins, Brandyn Gonzales and Tristan Castiglione, and sophomore Alante Stevens, New Haven; seniors Joe Gargagliano and Michael Jaks, and sophomore Matt Millstein, South Lake; senior Cliff Vicente and junior Matt Grzelak, Fitzgerald; and sophomore Bryan Bienicwicz, East Detroit.

New Haven went 7-0-1 in league play to win its second straight MAC Silver title. Marine City was second at 6-1-1, followed by South Lake (3-5-0), Fitzgerald (3-5-0) and East Detroit (0-8-0).