MAC’s best girls basketball players honored by conference

By: Jason Carmel Davis | C&G Newspapers | Published March 19, 2014

The 2013-14 season has come and gone for each of the 36 girls basketball teams in the Macomb Area Conference.

Now that the season has come to a close, league officials have released the All-League teams for each of the MAC’s five divisions. Officials also handed out Most Valuable Player, Coach of the Year and Sportsmanship awards.

Following is a listing of all the honorees.

Grosse Pointe South junior Cierra Rice earned league MVP honors. Sterling Heights Stevenson coach Brian Hottle was named Coach of the Year in his first season. The Titans also won the league Sportsmanship Award.

All-League honorees are Rice, senior Bre’nae Andrews and junior Alieeza Brown, Grosse Pointe South; seniors Lindsey Herndon and Chelsea Malburg, Romeo; junior Alex Sorgi, Utica Ford II; senior Jayla Hubbard and sophomore Erin Armbruster, Grosse Pointe North; seniors Rio Dudgeon and Olga Caruso, Macomb Dakota; and sophomore Madeline Brender, Stevenson.

Grosse Pointe South (12-0) won the league for the second straight year and has gone 24-0 in two years in the MAC Red. Romeo finshed second at 10-2, followed by Ford II (6-6), Grosse Pointe North (6-6), Dakota (4-8), Stevenson (4-8) and Clinton Township Chippewa Valley (0-12).

MAC White
Warren Cousino freshman Kierra Fletcher was named league MVP, with her coach, Mike Lee, earning Coach of the Year honors. Harrison Township L’Anse Creuse received the Sportsmanship Award.

All-League honorees are Rice, senior Alex Ruster and junior Haley Hoffman, Cousino; juniors Riley Fealko, Becca Richards and Brenna Murphy, Port Huron Northern; senior Jill Doss and sophomore Nicole Meyer, Utica Eisenhower; freshman Emily Langolf, Port Huron; sophomore Cierra VonZittwitz, Utica High; and senior Emily Hranchook, L’Anse Creuse.

Cousino finished 11-1 to win its third straight league title. Port Huron Northern (10-2) placed second. Utica Eisenhower (7-5) finished third, followed by Port Huron High (6-6), Utica High (6-6), L’Anse Creuse (2-10) and St. Clair High (0-12).

MAC Blue
Sterling Heights High junior Sadè Lemons earned league MVP honors. Stallions coach Rick Repicky was named league Coach of the Year. Warren Woods Tower received the league Sportsmanship Award.

All-League honorees are Lemons, and seniors Dayshia Vance and Julianna Trombley, Sterling Heights; senior De’Asia Clark and sophomore Kayla Roodbeen, Macomb L’Anse Creuse North; junior Amani Hutson, Warren Fitzgerald; junior Sasha Parker, Fraser High; freshman Nija Collier and senior Mykina Scott, Roseville High; senior Leah Charrette, St. Clair Shores Lakeview; and junior Ashley Wilson, Warren Woods Tower.

Sterling Heights High went 11-1 in league play to capture its third division title in four years. L’Anse Creuse North finished second at 10-2, followed by Fitzgerald, Fraser and Roseville (all at 5-7), Lakeview (4-8) and Tower (2-10).

MAC Gold
Marysville High senior Madison Valko won the league MVP award. St. Clair Shores Lake Shore coach Jimmy Roehm was named league Coach of the Year. Marysville, Mount Clemens High and Lake Shore shared the Sportsmanship Award.

All-League honorees are Valko, junior Natalie Curley, and sophomores Payton Husson and Devan Valko, Marysville; seniors Carly Vargo and Paige Plotzke, and junior Mackenzie Nemitz, Lake Shore; sophomore Courtney Russell, and seniors Ariel Young and Kristyn Bawol, Warren Mott; and junior Cami Bidinger and sophomore Tris’styn Williams, Anchor Bay.

Marysville went 11-1 to capture its third straight division title. Lake Shore finished second at 9-3, followed by Mott (8-4) and Anchor Bay (8-4), Marine City (4-8), Mount Clemens (2-10) and Warren Lincoln (0-12).

MAC Silver
Center Line High junior Jade Smith won league MVP honors. Panthers coach Trevor Warczinsky was named league Coach of the Year. Center Line and Clawson High shared the League Sportsmanship Award.

All-League honorees are Smith, sophomore Erin Bracey and senior Haley Boccomino, Center Line; seniors Asia Smith and Amber Thomas, Madison Heights Madison; junior Moet Dickinson and sophomore Khadajah Williams, St. Clair Shores South Lake; senior Alexis Hilliard, Madison Heights Lamphere; senior Tiffany Wilson, East Detroit High; Micah McGlynn, New Haven High; and senior Takia Brown, Clawson High.

Madison Heights Madison went 13-1 to win its first league title since 2004. Center Line finished second at 12-2, followed by South Lake (10-4), Lamphere (8-6), East Detroit (6-8), New Haven (3-11), Clawson (3-11) and Clinton Township Clintondale (1-13).