MAC’s best boys tennis players recognized

By: Jason Carmel Davis | C&G Newspapers | Published November 18, 2013

The 2013 Michigan High School Athletic Association boys tennis season has come and gone, and that includes play for each of the teams in the Macomb Area Conference.

The MAC recently named its All-League teams for four divisions, including Most Valuable Player and Coach of the Year awards.

Here are the players and coaches who have been honored by the league.

Port Huron Northern sophomore Franklin Brozovich earned division MVP honors, while Grosse Pointe South coach John Willard was named league Coach of the Year.

All-League honorees are Brozovich, freshman Chris Adams and senior Connor Johnston, Port Huron Northern; junior Nicholas Paolucci, junior Douglas Kubek, senior Victor Flynn, junior Will Norris and freshman Patrick Willard, Grosse Pointe South; senior Jacob Zacharias, senior Matthew Kain, senior Connor Olzem and junior Nick Cusmano, Grosse Pointe North; junior Mike Evans and sophomore Cory Zayance, Utica Eisenhower; and senior Brad Brown and senior Brandin Beltz, Warren Cousino.

Grosse Pointe South won the league with a 3-0-1 record. Port Huron Northern placed second at 2-0-2, followed by Grosse Pointe North (2-1-1), Eisenhower (1-3-0) and Cousino at (0-4-0).

MAC White
St. Clair High freshman Seth Pinnoo was named league MVP, while his coach, Dave Klotts, earned division Coach of the Year honors.

All-League honorees are Pinnoo, senior Alec Rood, senior Scott Conlin and senior Connor Winckler, St. Clair High; senior John Hein, senior Harsh Parekh, senior Trevor Garland, freshman Mike Micakovic and junior Jeff Washchuk, Sterling Heights Stevenson; sophomore Connor Sloan and senior K.J. Jones, Macomb Dakota; senior Mitchel Ryan, Anchor Bay; senior Brett Beloungea and senior Cody McKay, Utica Ford II; sophomore Michael Awe, Romeo High; senior Mike Manfredo, Macomb L’Anse Creuse North; and junior Zac D’Almedia, Harrison Township L’Anse Creuse.

St. Clair went 7-0-0 to win the league. Stevenson finished second at 6-1-0. Dakota was next at 5-2-0, followed by Anchor Bay (2-3-2), Ford II (2-3-2), Romeo (2-4-1), LCN (1-5-1) and L’Anse Creuse (0-7-0).

MAC Blue
Utica High junior Mario Russo earned league MVP honors. His coach, Rick Carr, was named league Coach of the Year.

All-League honorees are Russo and junior Namenja Trajkovic, Utica High; senior Ryan Papiernik, senior Derek Loewen and freshman Adam Culver, Fraser High; senior Dylan Billins, Marysville High; sophomore Cameron Lee, Port Huron High; seniors Sebastion Seeger and Nolan O’Brien, Marine City; junior Barath Dhanekula, Clinton Township Chippewa Valley; junior Matt Mrak, Warren Mott; and senior Joseph Capaldi, East Detroit High.

Utica High won the league with a 6-0-1 mark. Fraser High placed second at 5-0-2, followed by Marysville (5-1-1), Port Huron High (3-3-1), Marine City (2-3-2), Chippewa Valley (2-4-1), Mott (1-6-0) and East Detroit (0-7-0).

MAC Gold
Center Line High senior Brock Walquist was named league MVP, while St. Clair Shores Lakeview coach Colette Buckberry earned league Coach of the Year honors.

All-League honorees are Walquist, Center Line; junior Jordan Eckman, freshman Lucas Sliwinksi, senior Jon Couture, sophomore Tim Hill, sophomore Cody Ball, sophomore Blake Emerick, sophomore Paul Willard and sophomore Michael LaBarbera, Lakeview; sophomore Aaron Espere, senior Dayton Tarr and sophomore Daniel Pisarksi, Sterling Heights High; sophomores Troy Bowman and Scott Coons, Warren Woods Tower; and seniors Octavian Gherasim, Todd Pieper and William Aman, Madison Heights Lamphere. Clawson High officials did not submit players to be named to the team.

Lakeview went 5-0-0 to win the league. Sterling Heights High placed second with a 4-1-0 mark, followed by Tower (3-2-0), Lamphere (2-3-0), Center Line (1-4-0) and Clawson High (0-5-0).

Check future editions for the All-League teams for the rest of the fall sports.