Follow C & G News on Facebook Follow C & G News on Twitter Google+ Pinterest feed Connect to the C & G RSS feed


Metro Detroit

Local players fill All-MAC hockey teams

March 18, 2013

The 2012-13 Macomb Area Conference hockey season has come to a close for all 15 squads.

Teams in each of the three divisions saw varying results over the course of the year, with a number of players on those teams being named to the 2012-13 All-MAC hockey team.

All-MAC teams have been released for each division — Red, White and Blue, along with Most Valuable Player and Coach of the Year honors.

Here’s a breakdown of each team in the three MAC divisions.

Macomb Dakota senior forward Chad Roskelly earned league MVP honors. Utica Eisenhower coach Bob Hall was named Coach of the Year after guiding Ike to a league title.

All-MAC honorees are Roskelly, senior forward Ronnie O’Connor and senior defenseman Brad Schornak, Dakota; senior forward Stino Biondo, senior forward Ryan Jaros and senior defenseman Mike Burkhardt, Eisenhower; senior forward Kyle Hyde, Marysville; sophomore forward Marshall Moise, St. Clair Shores Unified; junior forward Scott Conlin, St. Clair High.

Utica Eisenhower and Macomb Dakota both finished 7-1 in league play to share the MAC Red Division title. The title is the second straight for Dakota. Marysville was next at 3-5, followed by St. Clair Shores (2-6) and St. Clair High (1-7).

MAC White
Utica Stevenson junior forward Dino Balsamo played his way to league MVP honors. After leading Romeo to an undefeated mark in league play, Bulldogs coach John Minjoe was named MAC White Coach of the Year.

All-MAC honorees are Balsamo, Stevenson; forward Mitch Pacitti, defenseman Jake Rutkoske and forward Adam Soboleski, Romeo; junior forwards Kyle Allard and D.J. LaBash, Utica High; senior forward Tyler Andrews, Harrison Township L’Anse Creuse; senior forward Gage Mazzatti, Macomb L’Anse Creuse North.

Romeo went 8-0 in winning the MAC White. Utica High (6-1-1) placed second, followed by L’Anse Creuse (4-3-1), LCN (1-6-1) and Stevenson (1-7).

MAC Blue
Fraser senior forward/defenseman J.R. Dellies earned division MVP honors, while Anchor Bay coach Mel Rettell was named league Coach of the Year.

All-MAC honorees are Dellies and senior forward Jackson Gray, Fraser; senior forward Matt Kaiser, sophomore forward Austin Koleski and senior netminder Larry Parisi, Anchor Bay; forward Andrew Baxter, Clinton Township Chippewa Valley; junior forward Brandon Mezuk, Warren Mott; sophomore forward Will Kriewall, Port Huron.

Anchor Bay finished 8-0 in league play to win the Blue. Fraser (6-2) placed second, followed by Chippewa Valley (3-4), Mott (1-6-1) and Port Huron (1-6).


November 16, 2015

Beverly Hills Detroit Country Day

Thanks to two early scores, some lock-down defense, and a touchdown with just 5:25 remaining in regulation, the Beverly Hills Detroit Country Day football team picked up a 20-13 victory against Milan High in a Division 4 regional final on Nov. 14 and earned this week’s Team of the Week honor. Country Day, which had outscored its opponents 78-7 in the district round, advanced to the state semifinals for the second year in a row. The Yellowjackets (11-1) face Flint Powers Catholic (10-2) at 1 p.m. Nov. 21 at West Bloomfield High.

You May Be Interested In