Warren, MI: 42°F
Weather forecast is unavailable at the moment.
Sorry for the inconvenience.
Follow C & G News on Facebook Follow C & G News on Twitter Google+ Pinterest feed Connect to the C & G RSS feed

Metro Detroit

Published August 1, 2012

Local golfers receive All-State honors

The Michigan Interscholastic Golf Coaches Association named its All-State teams and local athletes dot the roster.

He’s a look at each division’s All-State honorees; the local golfers’ names are in bold.

Super team
Grand Rapids West Catholic’s Sam Weatherhead is Mr. Golf and highlights the Super Team, which is a combination of the best golfers across all four divisions.

Evan Bowser, Dearborn High; Nick Carlson, Hamilton High; Alexander Dombrowski, Gaylord High; Sean Friel, Birmingham Brother Rice; Matt Garland, Battle Creek Lakeview; Reed Hrynewich, Mona Shores High; and Brett White, East Kentwood, make up the rest of the team.

Division 1
Jordan Andrus, Pinckney Schools; Joe Becker, Grosse Pointe South; Kyle Gaines, Brother Rice; Josh Heinze, Plymouth High; Max Kollin, North Farmington; Gates Muller, Traverse City West; Landon Osborne, Battle Creek Lakeview; Max Rispler, Forest Hills Central; Kyle Rodes, Plymouth High; Donnie Trosper, Canton High; Frank Welsher, Grosse Pointe South; and Andrew Yeager, Forest Hills Central, are the first-team selections.

Matt Alderink, Battle Creek Lakeview; Otto Black, Pinckney Schools; Zac Brammer, Davison High; Nikolaj Brons-Piche, Traverse City Central; Connor Carey and Michael Engelman, Grand Blanc High; Adam Decker, Forest Hills Central; Chris Dinh, Midland Dow; Adam Firavich, Hartland High; Brody Fischer, Forest Hills Central; Charlie Green, Novi Catholic Central; Nick Hocker, Oxford; Alex Kleckner, Lakeland High; Payden Myers, Traverse City West; A.J. Varekois, Rockford High; Jeremy Ball, Brother Rice; Eric Busa, Rochester Adams; Mason Gorris and Alex Waelchli, Lake Orion High; and Danny Schwarzwalder, St. Clair Shores Lakeview, have been named honorable mention.

Division 2
Gunnar Bjornson, Harper Creek High; Jason Brandt, Mason High; Ben Cook, South Christian; Kevin Cross, East Grand Rapids; Marcus Fry, Spring Lake High; Blaze Hogan, Big Rapids High; Tyler Olson, New Boston Huron; Tyler Polulak, DeWitt High; Chet Ryeson, Lapeer West; Bobby Thomas, Tecumseh; and Mason Wagner, Chelsea High, make up the first team.

Chris Beltzer, Haslett High; Timothy Dawkins, Big Rapids; Johnny Fortuna, Bloomfield Hills Lahser; David Harvey, Dearborn Divine Child; Rishi Patel, Beverly Hills Detroit Country Day; Hunter Pulaski, Petoskey High; Michael Ray, Cranbrook-Kingswood; and John Schrader, Niles High, are honorable mention.

Division 3
Austin Ecceleton, Alex Reynolds and Dean Hitt, Jackson Lumen Christi; MacGregor Howey and Robert White, Grosse Ile High; Derek Jacobson, Whitewall High; Jacob Johnson and Brent Marshall, Lansing Catholic; Zachary Kiefer, Mount Morris High; Aaron Knutson, Pontiac Notre Dame Prep; Brock Spink, Hanover-Horton; and Mitchell Wandell, Delton Kellogg, are first teamers.

Mackenzie Brockie and Johnny Brockie, Hanover-Horton; David Brown and Luke Rayburn, Ithaca High; Stefan Fahlen, North Pointe Christian; James Kobrick and Agron Ziberi, Grosse Ile; Cameron Lippoldt, Swan Valley; Cody Lysher, Napoleon High; Phil McCain, Frankenmuth; Sean Sommerville, Alma; and Connor Talbert, Jackson Lumen Christi, make up the honorable-mention team.

Division 4
Paul Bardenhagen, Lake Leelanau St. Mary; Zack Bialik, Manistee Catholic; Chip Blood, Hillsdale Academy; Alec Breit and Henry McGannon, Muskegon Western Michigan Christian; David Buko, Nouvel Catholic Central; Colin Joseph, Hackett Catholic Central; Bailey Matheison, Kalamazoo Christian; Zach Preuss, Auburn Hills Oakland Christian; Ted Rider, Hackett Catholic Central; Joel Sneed, Lake Leelanau St. Mary; and Ryan Wilcox, Portland St. Patricks, are first-team selections.

Tyler Coyne and John Van Noord, Oakland Christian; Travis Hindle, Ann Arbor Greenhills; Sean Lammy, Suttons Bay; Parker Ross, Sand Creek High; Brody Schiller, Nouvel Catholic Central; David Smith, Everest Collegiate; and Luke Stull, Hackett Catholic, are honorable mention.

Most Popular

  • Viewed
  • Liked

You May Be Interested In