Follow C & G News on Facebook Follow C & G News on Twitter Google+ Pinterest feed Connect to the C & G RSS feed


Clinton Township, Macomb Township

Dakota wrestling team, various individuals get past district round

February 12, 2014

» click to enlarge «
The Macomb Dakota wrestling team won its second straight district title Feb. 5. Pictured is Cougars 160-pound grappler Jake Johnson, left, during a 2014 MHSAA D-1 individual district match against L’Anse Creuse North’s Tyler Valentine Feb. 8.

MACOMB TOWNSHIP/CLINTON TOWNSHIP — The Macomb Dakota wrestling team won a second straight Michigan High School Athletic Association Division 1 district title with a 31-22 win over Anchor Bay Feb. 5 at Anchor Bay.

The Cougars battled Warren De La Salle in a 2014 D-1 regional semifinal after press time. The other half of the regional bracket featured Fraser High and Grosse Pointe South. Dakota was looking to capture a second straight regional title after capturing the program’s first regional title last winter.

Macomb L’Anse Creuse North saw its season end in a 65-9 loss to Anchor Bay in a D-1 district semifinal.

Macomb Lutheran North fell 72-12 to Richmond in a D-3 district final Feb. 5 at Richmond.

Wrestlers qualify for individual districts
The 2014 MHSAA wrestling individual postseason began with districts Feb. 8.

The individual finals are set for Feb. 27-March 1 at The Palace of Auburn Hills.

Here is a list of individual wrestlers in the Clinton-Macomb Chronicle coverage area who battled their way through districts. Wrestlers need a top-four finish to advance to regionals.

The D-1 regional featuring wrestlers from Dakota, LCN and Clinton Township Chippewa Valley is set for 9 a.m. Feb. 15 at Walled Lake Northern.

The D-3 regional featuring wrestlers from Lutheran North takes place at 9 a.m. Feb. 15 at Richmond High.

Sal Caruso - 103 pounds
Zack Prater - 119
Andrew Burnham - 125
Kyle Cendrowski - 135
Nick Papas - 140
Alex Bozinovski - 152
Jake Johnson - 160
Joshua Burnham - 171
Greg Brohl - 189
Antonio Balabani - 215

Chippewa Valley
John Price - 130
Evan Lockemy - 140
Jacob Browning - 140
Tristen Szajna - 152
Tristan Oliver - 160
Oscar Flores - 215

Mike Srbinovich - 130

Lutheran North
Jack Pyle - 130
Kyle Schwark - 160
Ian Vert - 171

For more information on the team and individual wrestling postseason, visit

For more local news coverage, see the following newspaper:


You May Be Interested In