CHSL girls basketball names honor teams

By: Christian Davis | C&G Newspapers | Published April 23, 2013

The Catholic High School League girls basketball divisional races were close across the board.

At most, it was a matter of two games that separated the divisional champion from the field or, in one case, no games at all.

Here’s a look at the final standings and the players who were named to the All-Catholic, All-League and All-Academic teams.

Central Division
Bloomfield Hills Marian was at the top, finishing 6-2 in the division. Dearborn Divine Child and Farmington Hills Mercy tied for second, both finishing 5-3. Livonia Ladywood placed fourth at 4-4 and Warren Regina was 0-8.

Marian’s Mary Cicerone is the Coach of the Year.

AA Division
Riverview Gabriel Richard and Pontiac Notre Dame Prep split their meetings during the season and each finished 7-1 for a share of the title.

Macomb Lutheran North came in at third, finishing 4-4, while Ann Arbor Gabriel Richard and Allen Park Cabrini tied for fourth at 1-7, each.

Notre Dame’s Pat Battani is the Coach of the Year.

East Division
Waterford Our Lady of the Lakes took the crown, finishing 7-0. Only two of its games were within 10 points.

Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook-Kingswood came in second at 4-2; Marine City Cardinal Mooney was third at 3-3; Madison Heights Bishop Foley finished 2-5 for fourth; and Royal Oak Shrine was 0-6.

Steve Robak of Lakes is Coach of the Year.

West Division
Clarkston Everest Collegiate was tops in the division, ending with a 7-0 mark.

St. Catherine of Siena Academy was second at 5-2; Detroit Cristo Rey was third at 2-4; West Bloomfield Frankel Jewish Academy was fourth at 1-5; and Bloomfield Hills Academy of the Sacred Heart came in at 0-5.

Erin Hearn, of Collegiate, is Coach of the Year.

Andrea Anastos, Ladywood; Erin Armstrong and Katie Theut, Mooney; Tierra Binder and Katie Payne, Cranbrook; Morgan Blair and Nicole Urbanick, Divine Child; Ava Doetsch and Lexie Robak, Lakes; Kora Dreffs, Ann Arbor Gabriel Richard; Monika Ferris, Sacred Heart; Ashley Henderson, Riverview Gabriel Richard; Lucia Westrick  and  Mary Jo Allen,  Everest Collegiate; Sarah LewAllen and Lindsey Klei,  Notre Dame Prep; Candice Leatherwood, Mercy; Kerry Prowse and Jenna Rogers, St Catherine of Siena; LaCellia Pruitt, Cristo Rey; Becca Sabol, Regina; Jackie Schwark,  Lutheran North; Bailey Thomas, Marian; and Emily Zgoda, Cabrini, are All-Catholic.

Jenna Briney and Danielle Schomaker, Lutheran North; Kilyn Bulluck and Kamry Peake, Marian; Morgan Button, Shrine; Katherine Carlson and Nicole DiFiore, Notre Dame Prep; Caroline Carr, Sacred Heart; Morgan Casanova, Riverview Gabriel Richard; Cyndi Claucherty and Emma Wonsil, Bishop Foley; La’Shay Edwards, Cranbrook; Kersten Engle and Angelina Mastromatteo, Everest Collegiate; Emily Hogan, Ann Arbor Gabriel Richard; Taylor Jones, Mercy; Mallory Myler, Divine Child; Ally O’Donahue, St. Catherine of Siena; Jessica Parry and Anna Robb, Lakes; Erin Nelson, Regina; Shelby Walsh, Ladywood; Candice Ware, Cristo Rey; and Molly Williams, Jewish Academy, are All-League.

Erin Armstrong, Mooney; Tierra Binder, Cranbrook; Morgan Blair, Divine Child; Madeline Blocki, Notre Dame Prep; Caroline Carr, Sacred Heart; Lauren Cross, Bishop Foley; Stephanie Curhan, Jewish Academy; Claire Diciuccio, Marian; Katie Draeger, Lutheran North; Rachel Izzo, Riverview Gabrielle Richard; Haley Howell, Lakes; Jessica Jenkins, Ann Arbor Gabrielle Richard; Erin Kapala, Shrine; Caitlyn LeFebvre, Cabrini; Ria Manimalethu, St Catherine of Siena; Sarina Nallamothu, Everest Collegiate; Christine Palazzolo, Regina; Tyler Parlor, Mercy; Teojineya Tomlin, Cristo Rey; and Sarah Wojnarowski, Ladywood, are All-Academic.