Follow C & G News on Facebook Follow C & G News on Twitter Google+ Pinterest feed Connect to the C & G RSS feed


Metro Detroit

CHSL boys basketball honors coaches and players

April 9, 2014

The boys basketball Catholic High School League also selected its honor teams.

During the season, Warren De La Salle and University Of Detroit Jesuit were co-champions in the Central Division, Detroit Loyola took the AA Division crown, Waterford Our Lady of the Lakes was tops in Intersectional I and Riverview Gabriel Richard won the Intersectional II title.

De La Salle’s Greg Esler, Loyola’s John Buscemi, Lakes’ Paul Robak and Riverview Gabriel Richard’s Kris Daiek took home Coach of the Year honors in their respective divisions.

Here’s a look at the players that led their respective teams and were recognized by the CHSL.

• Mario Agosta, De La Salle
• Peter Bonde, St. Mary’s
• Dennis Flynn, Brother Rice
• Ryan McGillivary, Catholic Central
• Nick Mutebi, Jesuit
• Demarco Dickerson, Loyola
• James Durkin, Notre Dame Prep
• Nick Gwisdalla, Bishop Foley
• Stephen Mitchell, Ann Arbor Gabriel Richard
• Ryan Seurynck, Divine Child
• Michael Christina, Lutheran North
• Michael Cobbledick, Shrine
• Robert DeBlander, Cabrini
• Dex Roman, Cranbrook-Kingswood
• Sean Thomas, Lakes
• Jesse Arm, Frankel
• Chris Avilla, Cristo Rey
• Andre Cabalang,  Riverview Gabriel Richard
• Cale Chaltron, Mooney
• Owen McMahon, Everest

• Austin Beyer, Catholic Central
• Charlie Ryan, Catholic Central
• Nelson Cagle, De La Salle
• LaMon Mathison, St. Mary’s
• Jalen Watts-Jackson, St. Mary’s
• Nick Mutebi, Jesuit
• Spencer Sanders, Jesuit
• Patrick Sparks, Brother Rice
• Danny Blade, Divine Child
• Antonio Capaldi, Bishop Foley
• Tony Kmiecik, Bishop Foley
• Joe Chavey, Ann Arbor Gabriel Richard
• Ryan Johnson, Ann Arbor Gabriel Richard
• Dequan Powell, Loyola
• Alonte Rice, Loyola
• Alex Stuart, Notre Dame Prep
• Andy Bielecki, Lutheran North
• Austin Conn, Lutheran North
• Andrew Kline, Lakes
• Vinny Puma, Lakes
• Zach Lebeda, Cranbrook
• Sam Orley, Cranbrook
• Tim Niehaus, Shrine
• Scott Smith, Cabrini
• Daniel Bobick, Mooney
• Jeff Mullally, Mooney
• Nick Gee, Riverview Gabriel Richard
• Jake Lipetzky, Riverview Gabriel Richard
• Dean Hammer, Frankel
• Owen McMahon, Everest
• Brandon Pruitt, Detroit Cristo Rey
• Xavier Rushing, Cristo Rey

• Jim Chapman, Warren De La Salle
• Kevin McKay, De La Salle
• Chris Rollins, De La Salle
• Kevin Hayes, Birmingham Brother Rice
• Noah King, Jesuit
• Cassius Winston, Jesuit
• Noah Lee, Detroit Novi Catholic Central
• Ted McCree, Orchard Lake St. Mary’s
• Harvey Caddell, Loyola
• Demarco Dickerson, Loyola
• Kevin Day, Ann Arbor Gabriel Richard
• Evan Fosha, Ann Arbor Gabriel Richard
• Jeremiah Johnson, Pontiac Notre Dame Prep
• Nick Pepin, Madison Heights Bishop Foley
• Gary Perry, Bishop Foley
• Zach Welker, Dearborn Divine Child
• Cam Cavazos, Royal Oak Shrine
• Adam Kline, Lakes
• Nick Roback, Lakes
• William Kruse, Macomb Lutheran North
• Travis McConnell, Macomb Lutheran North
• Alex Roed, Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook-Kingswood
• Christian Wildeman, Cranbrook
• Dave Szczesny, Allen Park Cabrini
• Noah Beauchamp, Everest Collegiate
• Steven Scott, Everest
• Tyler Blaszczak, Riverview Gabriel Richard
• Colton Jaratt, Riverview Gabriel Richard
• John Lemieux, Riverview Gabriel Richard
• Oliver Soble, Frankel
• Cale Chaltron, Marine City Cardinal Mooney
• Dylan Bressler, West Bloomfield Frankel Jewish Academy


November 16, 2015

Beverly Hills Detroit Country Day

Thanks to two early scores, some lock-down defense, and a touchdown with just 5:25 remaining in regulation, the Beverly Hills Detroit Country Day football team picked up a 20-13 victory against Milan High in a Division 4 regional final on Nov. 14 and earned this week’s Team of the Week honor. Country Day, which had outscored its opponents 78-7 in the district round, advanced to the state semifinals for the second year in a row. The Yellowjackets (11-1) face Flint Powers Catholic (10-2) at 1 p.m. Nov. 21 at West Bloomfield High.

You May Be Interested In