All-State baseball roster loaded with Michigan’s best prep talent

By: Mike Moore | C&G Newspapers | Published July 19, 2013

 Bishop Foley’s Brad Baldwin jumps over a runner during the final weekend of the season in Battle Creek. Baldwin joined Garrett Schilling, Billy Malak and Nate Grys on the D-3 All-State roster

Bishop Foley’s Brad Baldwin jumps over a runner during the final weekend of the season in Battle Creek. Baldwin joined Garrett Schilling, Billy Malak and Nate Grys on the D-3 All-State roster

Photo by Patricia O’Blenes

The season officially ended more than a month ago, but with summer in full swing, it’s never too late to recognize some of the state’s best prep baseball players.

That’s what the Michigan High School Baseball Coaches Association did following the 2013 campaign by releasing the Dream Team roster, as well as the best of the best in Divisions 1-4.

Here’s a look at those who stood out with first-team nods.

For a complete list of players, including second team All-State recipients, visit

Dream Team
The 2013 Dream Team is a star-studded lineup of players either headed to Division 1 schools next season, or soon-to-be college and pro prospects.

The list includes Nick Deeg and Nick Vogelmeier, Lake Orion; Jackson Lamb, Bedford; Corbin Clouse, Grand Ledge; Brett Adcock, Grant Miller and Grant Bridgewater, Bay City Western; Matt Ruppenthal and Randy Righter, Brother Rice; Hector Gutierrez, Detroit Western; Daniel Pulver, Mount Pleasant; Jake Bivens, Battle Creek Lakeview; Kory Young, Rockford; Maverick Prine, Davison; Kyle Kuhr, Bedford; Mike Kanitra, Livonia Stevenson; Carmen Benedetti, Grosse Pointe South; Tyler Bradner, Howell; Connor Mohr, Farmington High; Johnny Slater, Lathrup Village Southfield-Lathrup; Seth Johnson, Gobles; Harrison Wenson, University of Detroit Jesuit; and Zach Olszewski, Bay City John Glenn.

Division 1
All-State recipients in D-1 include Deeg and Vogelmeier, Lake Orion; Slater, Lathrup; Lamb, Bedford; Clouse, Grand Ledge; Adcock, Miller and Bridgewater, Bay City Western; Ruppenthal, Righter and Sammy Stevens, Brother Rice; Gutierrez, Detroit Western; Mohr, Farmington; Bivens, Battle Creek Lakeview; Young, Rockford; Prine, Davison; Kuhr, Bedford; Bradner, Howell; Wenson, U of D Jesuit; Benedetti, Grosse Pointe South; Kanitra, Livonia Stevenson; Badh Jawad, Crestwood; and Brandon Hughes, Sterling Heights Stevenson.

Division 2
The D-2 All-State roster includes, Keegan Akin, Midland Bullock Creek; Josh Moody, Alma; Kyle Rago, Berrien Springs; Phil Carey, Tecumseh; Tyler Palm, Ogemaw Heights; Seth Hicks, Coopersville; Pulver, Mount Pleasant; Seth McCormick, Carlton Airport; Mike Hodgins and River Rymsha, Orchard Lake St. Mary’s; Colton Wolfe, Eaton Rapids; Joel Schipper, Grand Rapids Christian; Kyle Reilly, Lahser; Grant Reuss, Cranbrook; Doug Moors, Goodrich; Nash Irwin, Mount Morris; Tyler Castiglione, Monroe Jefferson; Hunter Hayes, Adrian; Tanner Allison, Portland; AJ Montoya, St. Joseph; Olszewski, Bay City John Glenn; Jake Tarbell, Chippewa Hills; and Thomas Lindemann, Milan.

Division 3
First-team All State in D-3 includes, Garrett Schilling, Brad Baldwin, Billy Malak and Nate Grys, Bishop Foley; Ryan Orr, Bath; Logan Hessbrook, Ithaca; Brent Yelton, Hackett; Josh DeYoung, Calvin Christian; Dillon Rush, Lansing Catholic; Jimmy Chase, Hillsdale; Ethan Wiskur, Flint Powers Catholic; Travis Bolin, Watervliet; Justin Novack, Lutheran Northwest; Tyler Janish and Jordan Runyan, Whittemore Prescott; Brock Ridgeway, Homer; Justin O’Dowd, Lumen Christi, Christian Petrie, Meridian; Austin Gonser, Maple Valley; Carsten Dembeck and Gunner Gail, Ann Arbor Gabriel Richard; James Baer, Clare; and Nick Macgirr, Benzie.

Division 4
In D-4, All-State honors go to Johnson, Gobles; Nick Holt, Muskegon Catholic; Ryan Marshall and Ty Rollin, Beal City; Jagger McCudden, Newberry; Connor Fannon, Nick Azar, Mark Van Auk and Nate Gaggin; Grosse Pointe Woods University Liggett; Tim Creven, Decatur; Dustin DeBeam, Merrill; Kevin Levine, New Buffalo; Austin Onziana and Curtis Bunek, Glen Lake; Austin Rothe, Ubly; Nick Hire, Sacred Heart; Brady VanSloten, Rudyard; Nick Harris, Franklin Road Christian; Eathan Vosburg, Kirk Gibson and Kyle Millward, Climax-Scotts; Joe Eno, Onekema; and Alex Payne, Johannesburg-Lewiston.