Candidates receive nominations for November ballot

By: Cari DeLamielleure-Scott | West Bloomfield Beacon | Published August 7, 2014

 West Bloomfield resident John Teelander gets checked in by election workers, from left, Thelma Davenport, Judy Herning, Fran Stockler, Sally McWilliams and Al Kaplan.

West Bloomfield resident John Teelander gets checked in by election workers, from left, Thelma Davenport, Judy Herning, Fran Stockler, Sally McWilliams and Al Kaplan.

Photo by Donna Agusti

In the Beacon’s coverage area, voters stomped through the puddles to cast votes for several races, including state Senate District 15 and state House of Representatives districts 29 and 39, during the primary election Aug. 5.

Out of 50,881 registered voters in West Bloomfield, 11,805 cast ballots, said Paula Cummings, election specialist at West Bloomfield Township. Orchard Lake has 1,932 registered voters, and only 439 people voted — 219 of those were absentee — according to City Clerk Rhonda McClellan. A representative from Keego Harbor said that the city has 2,155 registered voters, but only 239 voted. A Sylvan Lake representative did not respond by press time.

According to the Oakland County Elections Division, the following candidates from the three contested races have won their respective nominations for Michigan’s general election Nov. 4. 

U.S. House of Representatives District 11
On the November ballot, voters will choose between Democratic candidate Anil Kumar and Republican Dave Trott. Trott, a Birmingham attorney and former Bingham Farms Council member, won the nomination over incumbent Kerry Bentivolio with 66.2 percent of the vote. Kumar, a urologist, hasn’t before held an elected office and took the nomination with 33.5 percent of the vote.

U.S. House of Representatives District 14
Mayor Brenda Lawrence came out on top, beating three other Democratic candidates to replace Gary Peters.

According to the unofficial results, Lawrence took 40.74 percent of the votes, or 13,410.

Coming in a close second was Democrat Rudy Hobbs, who received 39.43 percent of the votes, or  12,980. Democrat Hasen Clarke received 18.61 percent, or 6,124 votes, and Democrat Burgess Foster received 1.22 percent, or 401 votes. It total, 32,915 votes were cast in the race.

State Senate District 12
In District 12, the state Senate seat will be decided between Republican Jim Marleau and Democrat Paul Secrest, who each won their own nomination by a substantial margin. Marleau, a retired business owner from Lake Orion, won the nomination as the incumbent by 71.3 percent. Secrest, a Chrysler retiree in Bloomfield Township with no previously held elected offices, snagged the nomination with 68.4 percent of the vote.

State Senate District 15
Voters in 100 precincts selected Republican Mike Kowall, who is the incumbent, and Democrat Michael D. Smith, of White Lake Township, as the candidates for the November election.

Smith won the nomination 61.32 to 38.68 percent over Tom Crawford, while Kowall had 49.83 percent of the vote over Matt Maddock — who received 42.67 percent — and Ron Molnar, who received 7.50 percent.

“In my eyes, (the November election) is going to be David versus Goliath, since I’m going against the incumbent. … He has a lot more money, and I’m more grassroots,” Smith said. “It’s going to be an uphill battle, but I’m ready to go against him.”

Smith thanked everyone who voted in the election, despite the low turnout, and said that he will continue to stand for a strong economy, quality education, a safe environment and equality for everyone. Kowall could not be reached for comment by press time.

State House of Representatives District 29
With a margin of seven votes, Republican David Lonier was selected as the candidate for the November election over Christina L. Barr. Lonier received 891 votes, and Barr received 884 votes.

Barr led the race with 32 out of 33 precincts reporting, but when the final precinct turned in its votes, Lonier took the lead.

“I was biting my nails, watching it inch up,” said Barr of watching the results in her first time running for office. “Good luck to David. I wish him well, and congratulations.”

Lonier could not be reached for comment at press time.

Running unopposed for the Democratic nomination, Rep. Tim Greimel won 100 percent of the vote. Greimel is the House Democratic leader and represents the 29th District, which includes the cities of Auburn Hills, Keego Harbor, Orchard Lake Village, Pontiac and Sylvan Lake.

State House ofRepresentatives District 39
In November, voters will choose between Democrat Sandy Colvin and Republican Klint Kesto to represent the 39th District.

Colvin swept the election, receiving 85.70 percent of the vote over Michael B. Sarri. Colvin, a 19-year resident of West Bloomfield, said that she decided to run for the 39th District, which covers Commerce Township and a portion of West Bloomfield Township, to “make the community even better.”

“We were working very hard — going out and meeting people in the community — and we’re just focusing on my race and doing the best we can. We’re extremely happy with the results of all our efforts,” Colvin said.

Kesto won the Republican nomination with 54.95 percent of the vote. Deb O’Hagan received 39.36 percent, and Alan Stephens received 5.69 percent of the vote.

“It was a lot of hard work, and I think it was a vote of confidence by the people to keep Michigan moving in the right direction,” Kesto said. “I’m out there working. I’m available to my constituents … and I’m acting appropriately in terms of our budget and our policy.”